



39th Congress of the International Union of Physiological Sciences (IUPS)

Marvels of Life – Integration and Translation

Beijing, China August 20-24, 2021

CALL FOR SYMPOSIA

February 25, 2020

Dear Physiologists,

We are pleased to announce that the 39th Congress of the International Union of Physiological Sciences, IUPS-2021, will be held in Beijing, China, at the China National Convention Center from August 20 to 24, 2021, hosted by The Chinese Association for Physiological Sciences (CAPS).

With the congress theme **"Marvels of Life –** *Integration and Translation"*, IUPS-2021 will provide a perfect opportunity for physiologists from around the world to gather and share discoveries of physiological principles and how these are integrated in life and translated into techniques and tools that improve health outcomes. For your update, the International Scientific Program Committee (ISPC, see list of members below) has had its first meeting in October 2019 to formulate the outline of the program and to select Plenary and Keynote speakers. Announcement of the selected speakers will be made soon.

We invite you and your colleagues to submit proposals for **Symposia**. The guidelines for proposals submissions are presented below. All proposals are to be submitted through the Congress Website (<u>http://www.iups2021.com/</u>) in the period from <u>February 24 to June 15</u>, <u>2020</u>. All submissions will be considered by the ISPC in August 2020. Announcement of the selected Symposia will be made in the fourth quarter of 2020.

Queries related to the preparation can be directed to Ying-Shing Chan (yschan@hku.hk) or Ulrich Pohl (upohl@lmu.de), Co-Chairs of the ISPC of the IUPS-2021 Congress.

With your active participation, we hope to create a programme that will attract physiologists from all over the world to Beijing.

Sincerely yours,

Dele Stil

Ying-Shing Chan & Ulrich Pohl Co-Chairs, ISPC of the IUPS-2021 Congress

Guidelines for submission of proposal for Symposium.

- Each symposium will be of 2 hours duration and may include either (a)
 5 invited speakers with 3 senior investigators and 2 early-career investigators or (b) 4 senior investigators.
 - (a) In the 3+2 format, each senior investigator will be allocated 25 min (20 min + 5 min for questions) and each early-career investigator will be allocated 15 min (10 + 5). You could nominate 3 senior and 2 early-career speakers, or you could nominate 3 senior speakers and plan to select the early-career speakers from submitted abstracts.
 - (b) In the format with 4 senior investigators, each will have 30 min (25 + 5).

Regardless of format, each session will have a Chair and may include a Co-Chair, both of whom MUST be speakers.

- 2) While the main consideration of ISPC is to generate a scientific program of the highest quality, the ISPC will also strive to achieve balance with respect to sub-discipline, gender, nationality, and seniority.
- 3) It is expected that every symposium will have basic budget support. <u>It is important that ALL potential speakers in proposed Symposia are aware that full reimbursement of travel expenses may not be possible</u>. However, registration fees for invited speakers will be waived. The amount of support for each speaker will be announced in an official letter from the ISPC to the person(s) in charge of the respective symposium selected for the scientific program of the IUPS-2021 Congress.
- 4) Prior to submission of each proposal, please ensure that all speakers have confirmed directly with you that, should your Symposium be selected by the ISPC, they will definitely attend the meeting, noting the conditions of the limited financial support as described in point 3.
- 5) The person(s) proposing the symposium will be responsible for all communication with the speakers, including being a primary contact for speakers during the submission and review process, informing the speakers if the symposium bid is successful or not, ensuring that speakers submit abstracts of their talks when required by the ISPC, as well as fulfilling registration requirements.

- 6) The ISPC in the selection process will take into consideration the diversity of speakers (sub-discipline, gender, nationality, and seniority) as well as the relevance of the topic for the international community of physiologists, timeliness, the inclusion of modern concepts in physiological sciences, and the use of cutting-edge technologies and approaches. The ISPC will give priority to proposals that summarize advances or present conflicting views in rapidly developing areas in physiology.
- 7) The ISPC reserves the right to combine elements of related Symposium proposals, and to adjust the spectrum of invited speakers. In these cases, the organizers of the Symposia will be informed by the Co-Chairs of the ISPC about changes in their original proposals.

Ying-Shing Chan & Ulrich Pohl Co-Chairs, ISPC of the IUPS-2021 Congress

<u>MEMBERS OF</u> THE INTERNATIONAL SCIENTIFIC PROGRAM COMMITTEE (ISPC)

Representatives of CAPS

Ying-Shing Chan (Co-Chair - China)

- 1. Yun Wang
- 2. Xiao-Min Wang
- 3. Jia-Wei Zhou
- 4. Jun-Fa Li
- 5. Shi-Qiang Wang (Calcium Signaling)
- 6. Yi Zhu (Cardiovascular System)
- 7. Wei Kong (Circulation)
- 8. Ming Fan (Comparative: Adaptation and Environment)
- 9. Hai-Bin Wang (Endocrine and Reproduction)
- 10. Wei-Zhen Zhang (Metabolism and Digestion)
- 11. Jian-Hong Luo (Molecular and Cellular Physiology)
- 12. Jian-Jun Wang (Motor System)
- 13. Tian-Le Xu (Neurobiology)
- 14. You-Fei Guan (Renal System)
- 15. Zi-Qiang Luo (Respiratory System)

Representatives of IUPS

Ulrich Pohl (Co-Chair – Germany)

- 1. Julie Chan
- 2. Susan Wray
- 3. Peter Hunter
- 4. Patricia Molina
- 5. Heikki Kainulainen (Commission I Locomotion)
- 6. Alicia Mattiazzi (Commission II Circulation and Respiration)
- 7. Ludmila Filaretova (Commission III Endocrine, Reproduction and Development)
- 8. Katsuhiko Mikoshiba (Commission IV Neurobiology)
- 9. René Bindels (Commission V Secretion and Absorption)
- 10. Yoshihiro Kubo (Commission VI—Molecular and Cellular)
- 11. Tobias Wang (Commission VII—Comparative: Evolution, Adaptation and Environment)
- 12. Yang-Sook Chun (Commission VIII—Genomics and Biodiversity)
- 13. Ashima Anand (Ethics Committee)
- 14. Robert Carroll (Education Committee)
- 15. Andrew McCulloch (Physiome Committee)

February 2020